Five Days.

I have lived in Calgary for longer than I can even remember – almost my whole life – and I’ve only ever left for a couple weeks, at most.

This Thursday I am packing away as much as my plastic bins can hold and moving out west, way on the coast. Now, don’t get me wrong – I’m thrilled. Seriously, it’s the perfect climate for me (being rainy a lot of the time and not too hot) and there’s even a beach a couple minutes away from campus. However, it’s extremely scary knowing that as soon as my family leaves, I’m on my own.

Teenagers always seem to complain about how they don’t have enough independence and their parents are smothering them and they can’t wait to get out of the house, but I think we tend to take the safety, security and reliability of living at home for granted. That being said, you know that once I’m all settled there will be many skype calls a week to my mom and dad.

I can’t wait to leave and pursue my dreams. I can’t wait to decorate my little dorm room and call it my own. I can’t wait to go to the beach.

But oh man will it ever be tough.

~

“Home, let me come home
Home is wherever I’m with you”

-Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Home

Image

4 thoughts on “Five Days.

  1. Although you may feel like you are on your own, you will never be alone.

    You will always have us…like it or not…

    LT
    xo

Leave a Reply

