Second Year.

I am resurrecting this blog not for the purpose of writing for others to read, but rather to reflect with myself (albeit in a more public way than a journal or something similar). Now that my second year of university has (almost!) come to a close, I felt the need to look back on it.

This year was a year of so many firsts. I experienced so many things that I’d never even dreamed of before, and I accomplished things that I never thought possible. At the beginning of the year, I was given the position of co-principal flute in the orchestra at UVic (much to my surprise – I thought I was going to bomb the placement audition). I played in seven different composers’ pieces, and this included my harmonica debut as well as getting quite up close and familiar with flute extended techniques. I was asked to play flute in the Greater Victoria Youth Orchestra for their last concert of the year, which included playing bass drum and crash cymbals in Leonard Bernstein’s Candide Overture. I auditioned for the performance program and made it in, and I made so many plans for next year that I don’t know how I will have any free time.

I discovered a strong love for opera and the study of music history, as well as so many TV shows – America’s Next Top Model, Scandal, The Walking Dead, Gossip Girl…. But somehow I managed to have time to maintain some sort of social life. I grew closer with my current friends and created many new, close friendships with other people. I discovered where to get free dinner every Tuesday, and that I don’t ever need to purchase bread if I attend these free dinners. I learned that cooking for yourself can be pretty challenging at times, but also that crockpots are the most amazing, useful inventions known to man.

Most importantly, I learned that it is entirely possible for me to function on my own. Up until this year, I think I had a pretty extreme fear of loneliness. I think I was under the impression that every moment I spent not talking to someone was something to be sad about – but this year has taught me that I can survive, even thrive, by myself. This is not to say that I don’t love the company of others – but I’m not afraid to get home from school and have a night completely to myself. Of everything that I accomplished this year, I am most proud of myself for this. This revelation is one that was a long time coming – but because of it I am so much happier as a person.

I want to thank every single person who was involved in my life this year (I mean it – every SINGLE person) because you all have had a profound impact on my life. This year has been better and worse than last year in so many ways – I have been hurt, I have laughed until I cried, and everything in between. If it weren’t for everything that happened this year, I wouldn’t be in the place that I am at in this very moment. So, thank you. xx

IMG_8239

Leave a Reply

